Lunt Hall, home of the Math Department

Department News

Ph.D. students Boris Hanin and Jesse Wolfson have received postdoctoral NSF fellowships. Boris will be at MIT for the next three years and Jesse will be at the University of Chicago next year followed by a three year post at the University of Copenhagen.

Congratulations to Northwestern University's Putnam team (Ed Kim, Zeyu Wang, and Siyuan Cai), which ranked eleventh in the 2013 Putnam Mathematical Competition. Siyuan Cai received an Individual Honorable Mention.

Steve Zelditch has won the 2013 Stefan Bergman Prize. The prize is given annually by the Stefan Bergman Trust for work in Bergman's areas of research.

Nir Avni and Aaron Naber have been named 2014 Sloan Research Fellows.

Aaron Naber has been invited to give an address at the 2014 International Congress of Mathematicians in Seoul.


More News

Annual Department Newsletter


Chicago Symposium for Excellence in Teaching Mathematics and Science: Research and Practice - 12 April 2014.

Bellow Lecture Series - 28-30 April 2014.

Midwest PDE Seminar - 10-11 May 2014.

Representation Theory, Integrable Systems and Quantum Fields.
Workshop: May 12-16, 2014.
Conference: May 19-23, 2014.
Organizers: Kevin Costello, Xinwen Zhu and Eric Zaslow.

The 36th Midwest Probability Colloquium will be held at Northwestern University on October 9-11, 2014.

Past Conferences